Boone County (Ky.). Justice of the Peace


Boone County (Ky.). Justice of the Peace
Boone County began with a tradition of Justices of the Peace acting as a County Court. On the first Court, which met 17 June 1799, there were five Justices, who had been commissioned by the Governor: John Hall, John Conner, John Brown, Archibald Huston, and Archibald Reid.
The Justices in Kentucky served without pay in the early period, though later they were granted a small compensation. Even the fees they received when they held Court were supposed to be turned over to the County at intervals.
Suborganization of
Boone County Government (Ky.)
Geographic location
Boone County (Ky.)

Linked resources

Items with "Occupation(s): Boone County (Ky.). Justice of the Peace"
Title Class
Alloway, Archelous Person
Brown, John Person
Bush, John Person
Canby, Israel Person
Craig, John Hawkins Person
Graves, Robert K. Person
Hall, John Person
Hume, Elzaphan Person
Huston, Archibald Person
James, Henry Field Person
Johnson, Cave Person
Loder, Lewis Allen Person
McPherson, Alexander Person
Reid, Archibald Person
Sebree, Uriel Person